# Palram vs Solexx: Clear Polycarbonate or Diffused Twin-Wall? (2026)

Palram Glory 8x16 runs $5,799 and Solexx runs $6,207 to $7,368 at the same footprint, checked September 12, 2026. Compare price, warranty, and weather claims.

- Canonical: [https://greenhouses.guide/guides/palram-vs-solexx](https://greenhouses.guide/guides/palram-vs-solexx)
- Markdown: [https://greenhouses.guide/guides/palram-vs-solexx.md](https://greenhouses.guide/guides/palram-vs-solexx.md)
- Published: 2026-09-12
- Updated: 2026-09-12
- Author: Anna Persson

## Quick answer

At a matched roughly 128 square foot footprint, checked September 12, 2026, a Palram Canopia Glory 8x16 runs $5,799 at Greenhouse Megastore, and a Solexx kit at the same size runs $6,207 to $7,368 depending on line and trim at Planet Greenhouse. Palram buys a rigid, clear-view 10mm twin-wall polycarbonate on an aluminium frame with a fully published 10-year warranty ladder, free in year one and rising to 90 percent buyer-paid by year ten. Solexx buys a flexible, fully diffused twin-wall polyethylene that insulates well and takes hail without shattering, backed by a 10-year limited UV warranty that Solexx does not publish a proration schedule for. Neither maker publishes an engineered wind or snow rating: Palram's psf and mph figures exist only on dealer pages and disagree with each other, and Solexx has no engineered figure at all, only marketing language and one informal, non-lab panel-deflection demonstration. Real owner reports describe Solexx panels developing lap-joint gaps in hot weather and moisture between layers at fasteners.

At a matched roughly 128 square foot footprint, checked September 12, 2026, the two brands land within about $1,500 of each other in kit price, and neither publishes the number most buyers actually want: an engineered wind or snow rating. A Palram Canopia Glory 8x16 is $5,799 at Greenhouse Megastore. A comparable Solexx kit at the same 8x16 footprint runs $6,207 for the Garden Master in standard 3.5mm panels up to $7,368 in the thicker 5mm Deluxe trim, both at Planet Greenhouse.

The material choice underneath that price gap is bigger than the dollar figure. Palram's twin-wall polycarbonate is rigid and lets you see through the wall, if diffused a little by the panel's internal structure. Solexx's twin-wall polyethylene is flexible, fully diffused, and opaque enough that you cannot see shapes through it at all. That is not a minor cosmetic difference, it decides whether the greenhouse still looks like a window onto your yard or reads as a glowing white box.

We don't sell greenhouses. We save you from buying the wrong one. No independent page anywhere compares these two brands with real numbers; the closest thing online is a competitor's Exaco-vs-Solexx page, and every dedicated Solexx review we found was promotional copy with no independent critique. This page prices both kits at the same footprint on the same day, reads both warranty documents for what they actually disclose, and names plainly what neither maker will put on its own product page.

If you have not settled glazing type at all, read [glass vs polycarbonate](/guides/glass-vs-polycarbonate-greenhouse) first. That decision moves your budget more than the brand does.

## Quick Answer: Which One Fits Your Yard

| If this is your priority | Buy | Why, in one line |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest price at this footprint | Palram Canopia Glory | $5,799 against Solexx's $6,207 to $7,368 for the same 8x16 |
| A clear view through the walls | Palram Canopia Glory | Rigid polycarbonate you can see through; Solexx is fully diffused and opaque |
| Strongest insulation and even light | Solexx | Manufacturer-rated R-2.1 to R-2.3 twin-wall polyethylene with no hot spots or shadows |
| Hail country | Solexx | Flexible panels reported to shrug off impact rather than crack; independently reported in an owner thread |
| A warranty you can actually read in full | Palram Canopia Glory | Publishes the exact year-by-year proration percentage; Solexx does not publish its schedule |
| A documented engineered wind or snow number | Neither | Palram's figures are dealer-written and disagree; Solexx has no engineered figure at all |

## How These Numbers Were Built, and When

Everything below was checked on **September 12, 2026**. Neither manufacturer sells direct with a price, so every price is a dealer or specialty-retailer figure, dated and labeled.

- **Palram kit prices:** [Greenhouse Megastore's Glory Premium listing](https://www.greenhousemegastore.com/products/palram-canopia-glory-premium-greenhouse), the only current retailer page we found showing both the 8x12 and 8x16 Glory prices together.
- **Palram spec and general warranty language:** [Canopia's own Glory 8x8 product page](https://canopia.com/product/glory-8-ft-x-8-ft-greenhouse-kit/), which states panel thickness but not price, and confirms only that "the warranty for all our greenhouses is for at least 5 years, some for more."
- **Palram's full warranty ladder:** the Palram Canopia 10-year limited warranty document, already read in full and cited in [Palram vs Exaco Riga vs Janssens](/guides/palram-vs-exaco-riga-vs-janssens), reused here with the same attribution rather than re-derived.
- **Solexx kit prices:** [Planet Greenhouse's Solexx collection](https://planetgreenhouse.com/collections/solexx) for the Garden Master, Gardener's Oasis, and Harvester lines at 8x16, and [Eartheasy's Gardener's Oasis listing](https://eartheasy.com/products/solexx-gardener-s-oasis-greenhouse-kit) for the 8x8 entry price, cross-checked against both retailers.
- **Solexx spec and warranty language:** [Solexx's own Gardener's Oasis product page](https://solexx.com/gardeners-oasis-greenhouse/) and [Solexx's FAQ page](https://solexx.com/solexx-faqs/).
- **Solexx's informal snow-load demonstration:** [Adapt8's own blog post describing the test](https://adapt8.us/blog/snow-load-test-on-solexx-greenhouse-panels/), read in full for what it actually measured.
- **Owner-reported panel behavior:** a permies.com forum thread comparing [Solexx to rigid polycarbonate](https://permies.com/t/44837/Solexx-Polycarbonate), read for real first-hand reports rather than marketing copy.
- **Base, site prep, anchoring:** our own published planning ranges from [the real cost of a greenhouse](/guides/real-cost-of-a-greenhouse) and [the foundation and base guide](/guides/greenhouse-foundation-base-guide).

We have not physically built or tested either brand. Every figure below is labeled with its source and date, and the "What we could not verify" section names what neither company will publish.

## The Master Comparison at Roughly 128 Square Feet

The closest matched footprint the two catalogs allow is 8x16, about 128 square feet. Solexx sells three different home lines at this size, so all three are shown next to the single Palram model that competes with them.

| Line | Palram Canopia Glory 8x16 | Solexx Garden Master 8x16 | Solexx Gardener's Oasis 8x16 | Solexx Harvester 8x16 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Floor area | ~128 sq ft | ~128 sq ft | ~128 sq ft | ~128 sq ft |
| Peak height | not published on the retailer listing | 8'9" | 8'0" | 8'0", lean-to profile against a wall or fence |
| Glazing | 10mm twin-wall polycarbonate, rigid, translucent | Twin-wall polyethylene, flexible, fully diffused/opaque | Same Solexx twin-wall polyethylene | Same Solexx twin-wall polyethylene |
| Panel thickness and R-value | 10mm (manufacturer states thickness, not an R-value) | 3.5mm (R-2.1) standard, 5mm XP (R-2.3) Deluxe, per solexx.com | Same 3.5/5mm options | Same 3.5/5mm options |
| Frame | Aluminium | Fiberglass-reinforced composite tubing, per manufacturer | Same | Same |
| View through the walls | Yes, clear panels see-through with some diffusion | No, fully diffused and opaque | No | No |
| Price, checked Sep 12 2026 | $5,799 (Greenhouse Megastore) | $6,207 standard / $7,368 Deluxe (Planet Greenhouse) | $6,543 Deluxe listed; standard trim price not shown on the fetched page (Planet Greenhouse) | $6,569 Deluxe (Planet Greenhouse) |
| Warranty | 10-year, full published proration ladder | 10-year limited UV, "10 Year Prorated," no published percentage schedule | Same | Same |
| Published wind/snow rating | Dealer-written only, 20 to 20.5 psf and 60 to 62 mph, not on canopia.com, disagreeing between dealers | None published anywhere; only qualitative marketing language | Same | Same |
| Base included | Galvanized steel base kit in the box | Not specified as included on the fetched retailer pages; verify at order time | Same | Same |
| Panel replacement | Not published | Panels can reportedly be cut to size and individually replaced per manufacturer notes; no price published | Same | Same |

Two things worth stopping on. **Solexx is not one product, it is three different rooflines on the same twin-wall polyethylene**, so the "Solexx" price is really a range depending on whether you want extra headroom (Garden Master), the best-selling general model (Gardener's Oasis), or a lean-to built against a wall or fence (Harvester). **Palram's Glory line is the only one of the four that ships a clear view**, which is the actual decision most buyers are making when they compare these two brands, not just the price.

## The Material Decision: Rigid and Clear, or Flexible and Diffused

This is the real fork in the road, and it decides more of the buying experience than the brand name does.

**Palram's twin-wall polycarbonate** is a rigid sheet locked into an aluminium frame. It lets light and shapes through, just softened at the edges by the panel's internal ribbing. It flexes under hail impact rather than shattering, which is a real advantage over single-pane glass, and it is the material most buyers picture when they hear "polycarbonate greenhouse."

**Solexx's twin-wall polyethylene** is flexible enough to be shipped rolled and cut to size on site, and it fully diffuses light rather than transmitting it directly. That means no hot spots or hard shadows anywhere in the greenhouse, an advantage some growers genuinely prefer for even growth. It also means you cannot see through the walls at all, only pale shapes and color. If you want to glance out at your yard from inside, or see your plants from the house, Solexx will not give you that.

Manufacturer-published insulation figures favor Solexx on paper: solexx.com states R-2.1 for its 3.5mm panel and R-2.3 for the thicker 5mm XP option, both higher than the commonly cited R-value range for standard twin-wall polycarbonate. We could not find an independent extension or lab source that corroborates Solexx's own R-value claim, the way Alabama Cooperative Extension's published U-values corroborate polycarbonate's numbers elsewhere on this site. Treat the Solexx figure as a manufacturer claim until you can verify it against a third-party source, not as an independently tested spec.

**Choose Palram if** a clear view matters, you want the cheaper entry price at this footprint, or you want a warranty document that spells out exactly what you owe in year six. **Choose Solexx if** even, diffused light and stronger claimed insulation matter more than seeing through the walls, and you are comfortable paying more for it. Full detail on Palram alone is in [the Palram Canopia review](/guides/palram-canopia-review).

## What Neither Warranty Actually Discloses

Both brands print "10 years" on the box. Read the actual documents and they are different products.

| | Palram Canopia Glory | Solexx |
|---|---|---|
| Stated term | 10 years | 10 years, described as "limited UV warranty" |
| Proration schedule published | Yes, in full: free in year 1, then the buyer pays 10 percent more of the part's original price for every year that passes, reaching 90 percent in year 10 | Not published. solexx.com and its FAQ page both say "prorated" without stating the percentage ladder |
| Condition | Void if the greenhouse was not anchored per instructions | Not specified in the pages we could reach |
| Storm damage | Hail, storm, tornado, hurricane, blizzard, flood and fire all excluded | Not specified in the pages we could reach |
| Transferable to a new owner | No | Not specified in the pages we could reach |

Palram's warranty is the less generous-sounding document and the more fully disclosed one: you know exactly what a year-eight claim costs you. Solexx's marketing language ("10-year limited UV warranty," reinforced by claims the panels have shown "minimal UV degradation" over 35 years in the field) reads better, but the actual proration math is not published anywhere we could find. Ask for the year-by-year schedule in writing before you order, the same way you would ask any seller for [the deposit and warranty terms a complete quote should state](/guides/greenhouse-quote-checklist).

## Wind and Snow: The Question Neither Company Will Answer With a Number

If you are choosing between these two because your site gets real wind or real snow, neither gives you a documented engineering figure to plan against.

**Palram** publishes nothing on canopia.com's own Glory product page. The only psf and mph figures come from the dealer channel, and dealers disagree with each other: one lists 20.5 psf and 62 mph, another lists 20 psf and 60 mph for the same kit, and a third publishes no figure at all. That disagreement is already documented in [Palram vs Exaco Riga vs Janssens](/guides/palram-vs-exaco-riga-vs-janssens).

**Solexx has no engineered figure at all**, on its own site or anywhere we could find. Its FAQ page makes qualitative claims that the greenhouses "out-perform all other greenhouses in wind" and cites customer reports of surviving winds "of 70 mph or greater," plus a general statement that units have gone undamaged "after being covered in several feet of snow." None of that is a design rating. The closest thing to hard data is Adapt8's own blog post describing an informal test: a 4x4 foot panel section held 2,023 pounds of stacked coconut-coir blocks for six days, deflecting 2 and 3/8 inches and recovering to 1 and 5/8 inches after the load was removed. That is a real, specific result, and it is also explicitly not an engineering snow-load test: the article itself notes that "the design of the greenhouse frame determines a greenhouse's snow load capability," which the panel test does not address at all.

If a documented wind or snow number is the reason you are choosing between these two, neither one gives it to you. Look up your own ASCE 7 ground snow load and design wind speed, and read [greenhouse snow load](/guides/greenhouse-snow-load) and [wind and anchoring](/guides/greenhouse-wind-anchoring) before you order either.

## What Actual Owners Report

Independent, dated owner accounts are thin for both brands online, and most of what we found for Solexx is promotional. One useful exception is a permies.com forum thread comparing Solexx to rigid polycarbonate, read in full on September 12, 2026.

Real reports from that thread, disclosed here as single-thread anecdotes and not a controlled test:

- **Panel movement in heat.** One owner described gaps opening "up to around 4 inches" at panel lap joints on warm days in the 70 to 80°F range, noting the material is meant to be installed around 60°F and still moves significantly with temperature.
- **Moisture between layers.** A separate report described moisture accumulating between the twin-wall layers around fastener points.
- **Winter performance.** One long-term operator of a 1,200 square foot Solexx structure reported interior temperatures running 18 to 25 degrees above 0°F with no supplemental heat during extreme cold snaps of -10 to -20°F outside, a genuinely strong result if representative.
- **Light and plant growth.** One grower noted that plants in a heavily shaded siting still grew "leggy and stunted" despite the diffused light, a reminder that diffusion helps light spread evenly but does not fix a genuinely dark spot in the yard.
- **Impact resistance.** One owner reported a hard dirt clod striking a panel and bouncing off "with no damage," consistent with the material's flexible, impact-tolerant reputation.

We found no comparably detailed independent owner thread specifically weighing Palram against Solexx. Palram's own documented weaknesses, thin single-wall entry models, fiddly assembly, and reported hardware and sealing issues, are covered in [the Palram Canopia review](/guides/palram-canopia-review).

## Which Buyer Should Get Which

**Buy the Palram Canopia Glory if** you want to see through the greenhouse walls, want the cheaper kit at this footprint, and want a warranty you can read start to finish before you buy. Anchor it properly; the warranty is void if you skip that step, covered in [wind and anchoring](/guides/greenhouse-wind-anchoring). Full detail in [the Palram Canopia review](/guides/palram-canopia-review).

**Buy Solexx if** even, diffused light and the manufacturer's higher claimed insulation matter more to you than a clear view, you garden somewhere with real day-night temperature swings, and you are comfortable paying roughly $400 to $1,600 more than the Palram at this footprint for it. Get the warranty's actual proration schedule in writing before you order, since the published documents do not state it. Pick the Garden Master for extra headroom with taller crops, the Gardener's Oasis for the best-selling general-purpose model, or the Harvester if the greenhouse needs to sit against a house or fence.

**Step down rather than choose between these two if** your real use is a single season of seed-starting and you are not sure you will keep gardening seriously. A smaller, cheaper Palram Harmony, or even a cold frame, does that job without committing to either brand's larger kits. That comparison is in [cold frame vs high tunnel vs greenhouse](/guides/cold-frame-vs-high-tunnel-vs-greenhouse).

**Step up rather than choose between these two if** a documented, engineered wind or snow rating is the actual reason you are shopping, since neither brand here provides one. [Best greenhouses for cold climates](/guides/best-greenhouses-for-cold-climates) covers the makers that do publish a certified figure.

## What We Could Not Verify

Publishing the gaps is more useful than filling them with a confident guess. As of September 12, 2026, we could not verify:

- **A published proration percentage schedule for Solexx's 10-year warranty.** Every Solexx-controlled page we reached says "prorated" without stating the ladder. Palram publishes its own schedule in full.
- **Any engineered wind or snow rating for any Solexx model.** Only qualitative marketing claims and one informal, explicitly non-engineering panel test exist.
- **Replacement panel or covering price for either brand.** Neither publishes one.
- **A current, independently refreshed Palram Harmony 6x8 entry price.** Our July 12, 2026 figure from Home Depot ($595.38 sale, $744.22 list) could not be reconfirmed this run; Home Depot returned HTTP 403 to automated access again on September 12, 2026.
- **Independent, non-manufacturer corroboration of Solexx's stated R-2.1 and R-2.3 insulation values.** No extension or lab source repeating these figures was found.
- **Independent assembly-time data for Solexx.** Every Solexx-specific review we found was promotional and gave no hours-to-assemble figure; Palram's assembly issues are independently documented, Solexx's are not.
- **Whether a base kit ships in the box with any Solexx model.** The retailer pages we reached did not state this either way.

We have not built, tested, or measured either brand's greenhouse. Every figure above comes from a manufacturer page, a specialty retailer listing, or a dated forum report, and each is labeled.

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Does Solexx reduce heat in the greenhouse, and by how much?

Not by design in summer, and that is not really the product's purpose. Solexx's twin-wall polyethylene is built to hold heat in cold weather, not vent it out in hot weather; one long-term owner reported interior temperatures 18 to 25 degrees above 0°F with no supplemental heat during -10 to -20°F outside conditions, which points to strong winter insulation rather than summer cooling. In hot climates, ventilation and shade still do the summer cooling job for either brand, covered in [ventilation and overheating](/guides/greenhouse-ventilation-overheating).

### Is Solexx better for plants that don't need as much direct light?

Diffusion spreads the light evenly and removes hot spots and hard shadows, which many growers prefer. It does not add light where there was none to begin with. One owner reported plants still growing "leggy and stunted" in a shaded siting despite the diffusion. Site the greenhouse for real sun exposure regardless of which glazing you choose; see [where to put a greenhouse](/guides/greenhouse-buying-guide) for siting guidance.

### Can you actually see through a Solexx greenhouse wall?

No. Solexx's twin-wall polyethylene is fully diffused and reads as an opaque white or translucent panel, not a clear or lightly tinted one. You will see color and movement through it, not shapes or detail. A Palram Glory's twin-wall polycarbonate is closer to a clear view, though still somewhat softened by the panel's internal ribbing.

### Which one handles wind and snow best?

Neither publishes an engineered figure you can plan a build against. Palram's Glory numbers, where they exist at all, come from three dealer listings that disagree with each other (20.5 psf/62 mph, 20 psf/60 mph, and no figure at all), and canopia.com states none of them. Solexx has no engineered wind or snow rating anywhere we could find, only marketing language and one informal, explicitly non-engineering panel-deflection test. Look up your own ASCE 7 ground snow load and design wind speed and plan the base and anchoring to that number, not to either brand's marketing copy.

### Is Solexx worth paying more than a Palram for the same size?

That depends on what you are optimizing for. At the matched 8x16 footprint checked September 12, 2026, Solexx costs $400 to $1,600 more than the Palram Glory, depending on which Solexx line and trim you pick. You are paying that premium for stronger claimed insulation and fully even, diffused light, not for a clearer view, a better-documented warranty, or a published weather rating; Palram wins on all three of those. If your winters are genuinely harsh and even heat distribution matters more than seeing through the walls, the premium is a reasonable trade. If it does not, the Palram does the same growing job for less.

## Sources

- [Greenhouse Megastore: Palram Canopia Glory Premium greenhouse](https://www.greenhousemegastore.com/products/palram-canopia-glory-premium-greenhouse), 8x12 and 8x16 prices and stated 10-year limited warranty, checked September 12, 2026
- [Canopia by Palram: Glory 8x8 greenhouse kit product page](https://canopia.com/product/glory-8-ft-x-8-ft-greenhouse-kit/), panel thickness and general warranty language, checked September 12, 2026
- Palram Canopia 10-year limited warranty document, full proration ladder, already cited in [Palram vs Exaco Riga vs Janssens](/guides/palram-vs-exaco-riga-vs-janssens)
- [Planet Greenhouse: Solexx collection](https://planetgreenhouse.com/collections/solexx), Garden Master, Gardener's Oasis, and Harvester 8x16 prices, checked September 12, 2026
- [Eartheasy: Solexx Gardener's Oasis greenhouse kit](https://eartheasy.com/products/solexx-gardener-s-oasis-greenhouse-kit), 8x8 entry price, checked September 12, 2026
- [Solexx: Gardener's Oasis greenhouse product page](https://solexx.com/gardeners-oasis-greenhouse/), panel thickness, R-value claims, and warranty language, checked September 12, 2026
- [Solexx: frequently asked questions](https://solexx.com/solexx-faqs/), wind and snow claims, checked September 12, 2026
- [Adapt8: snow load test on Solexx greenhouse panels](https://adapt8.us/blog/snow-load-test-on-solexx-greenhouse-panels/), the informal panel-deflection demonstration, checked September 12, 2026
- [Permies.com forum: Solexx vs Polycarbonate](https://permies.com/t/44837/Solexx-Polycarbonate), independent owner reports, checked September 12, 2026
- `src/data/manufacturers.json` Palram and Solexx entries, independent desk synthesis dated 2026-07-12, reused with attribution for assembly and general strengths/weaknesses claims not re-derived this run
