# Yoderbilt vs Palram: Delivered Wood or DIY Polycarbonate Kit? (2026)

At a matched 8x12 footprint, checked September 19, 2026, a delivered Yoderbilt Traditional runs $4,395, less than a Palram Glory DIY kit at $5,184.

- Canonical: [https://greenhouses.guide/guides/yoderbilt-vs-palram](https://greenhouses.guide/guides/yoderbilt-vs-palram)
- Markdown: [https://greenhouses.guide/guides/yoderbilt-vs-palram.md](https://greenhouses.guide/guides/yoderbilt-vs-palram.md)
- Published: 2026-09-19
- Updated: 2026-09-19
- Author: Anna Persson

## Quick answer

At a matched 8x12 footprint, about 96 square feet, checked September 19, 2026, a Yoderbilt Traditional arrives fully assembled with a built floor for $4,395, which is less than a Palram Canopia Glory 8x12 DIY kit at $5,184 that you still have to build yourself and that ships with no floor. Step up to the Yoderbilt Legacy at the same size, $5,495 with three windows and gable vents, and the delivered wood structure costs barely $311 more than the aluminium kit. The materials are closer than the price gap suggests: Yoderbilt uses 8mm twin-wall polycarbonate, Palram's Glory line uses a thicker 10mm. The real fork is what each price actually buys. Yoderbilt sells a finished structure, delivery, and no assembly labor, but publishes no structural or panel warranty, only a 2-year warranty on the exterior stain. Palram sells a kit you build yourself, with a fully published 10-year warranty proration ladder, but no floor and no delivery crew.

At a matched 8x12 footprint, about 96 square feet, checked **September 19, 2026**, the price gap between a DIY polycarbonate kit and a delivered, fully assembled wood structure has nearly closed at the small end. A Yoderbilt Traditional 8x12, built to order, delivered on a trailer, and set down ready to use with a finished pressure-treated floor, costs $4,395. A Palram Canopia Glory 8x12, an aluminium-and-polycarbonate kit you build yourself with no floor included, costs $5,184 at Greenhouse Megastore. The delivered wood structure is the cheaper option at this size, before you even count the weekend of labor the Palram still needs.

That is not the whole story. Step up to Yoderbilt's Legacy line at the same 8x12 size, the one with real windows and gable vents rather than the bare Traditional, and it runs $5,495, just $311 more than the Palram kit. The two brands solve different problems for buyers who have already ruled out a $300 pop-up and a $20,000 glasshouse. We don't sell greenhouses. We save you from buying the wrong one. No independent page anywhere prices these two brands against each other at a matched size; the only comparison online is Yoderbilt's own blog post pitting itself against generic kits.

If you have not settled the bigger questions first, [what size greenhouse do I need](/guides/what-size-greenhouse-do-i-need) and [the real cost of a greenhouse](/guides/real-cost-of-a-greenhouse) will move your budget more than this brand choice does.

## Quick Answer: Which One Fits Your Yard

| If this is your priority | Buy | Why, in one line |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest price at this footprint | Yoderbilt Traditional | $4,395 delivered and assembled with a floor, against $5,184 for a Palram kit you still build |
| Windows and gable vents included | Yoderbilt Legacy | $5,495 with three windows, still close to the Palram kit's price |
| No assembly labor at all | Yoderbilt | Arrives on a trailer, placed and leveled by the delivery crew |
| A warranty you can actually read | Palram Canopia Glory | Publishes the full 10-year proration ladder; Yoderbilt publishes only a 2-year stain warranty |
| A finished floor included | Yoderbilt | Pressure-treated deck floor comes built; Palram ships no floor |
| Thicker glazing | Palram Canopia Glory | 10mm twin-wall polycarbonate against Yoderbilt's 8mm |
| A narrow or obstructed yard | Palram Canopia Glory | Ships as a kit, no 9 to 14-foot clear delivery route required |

## How These Numbers Were Built, and When

Everything below was checked on **September 19, 2026**.

- **Yoderbilt prices and specs:** [Traditional 8x8](https://yoderbilt.com/greenhouses/traditional/8x8/), [Traditional 8x12](https://yoderbilt.com/greenhouses/traditional/8x12/), and [Legacy 8x12](https://yoderbilt.com/greenhouses/legacy/8x12/) product pages, each stating current starting price, standard materials, and included features.
- **Yoderbilt delivery, deposit, and warranty terms:** [Yoderbilt's own FAQ](https://yoderbilt.com/resources/faq/).
- **Yoderbilt add-on pricing:** [Yoderbilt's add-ons page](https://yoderbilt.com/add-ons/).
- **Yoderbilt independent owner evidence:** [Ninnescah Made's four-year Yoderbilt review](https://ninnescahmade.com/our-yoderbilt-greenhouse-faq/), already read in full and cited in [the Yoderbilt review](/guides/yoderbilt-greenhouse-review).
- **Palram Glory prices and specs:** [Greenhouse Megastore's Glory Premium listing](https://www.greenhousemegastore.com/products/palram-canopia-glory-premium-greenhouse), showing current 8x12 and 8x16 prices, glazing thickness, and included base and vents.
- **Palram's full warranty ladder:** the Palram Canopia 10-year limited warranty document, already read in full and cited in [Palram vs Exaco Riga vs Janssens](/guides/palram-vs-exaco-riga-vs-janssens) and [Palram vs Solexx](/guides/palram-vs-solexx), reused here with the same attribution.
- **Palram assembly reality and full-project cost range:** our own [Palram Canopia review](/guides/palram-canopia-review) and [Palram vs Exaco Riga vs Janssens](/guides/palram-vs-exaco-riga-vs-janssens).
- **Base, site prep, anchoring:** [the real cost of a greenhouse](/guides/real-cost-of-a-greenhouse) and [the foundation and base guide](/guides/greenhouse-foundation-base-guide).

We have not physically built or tested either brand. Every figure below is labeled with its source and date, and the "What we could not verify" section names what neither company publishes.

## The Master Comparison at 8x12

| | Yoderbilt Traditional 8x12 | Yoderbilt Legacy 8x12 | Palram Canopia Glory 8x12 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Floor area | ~96 sq ft | ~96 sq ft | ~96 sq ft |
| Price, checked Sep 19 2026 | $4,395 | $5,495 | $5,184 |
| Frame | Pressure-treated southern yellow pine | Same | Aluminium |
| Glazing | 8mm twin-wall polycarbonate | 8mm twin-wall polycarbonate | 10mm twin-wall polycarbonate |
| Floor | Pressure-treated deck floor, included | Same | Not included |
| Windows | None, cannot be added | 3 (one each side, one in back) | Not stated on the listing |
| Ventilation | Front and rear auto-vent, no electricity | Front and rear gable vent, no electricity | 2 automatic roof vents |
| Base | Skids, placed on ground, slab, or gravel pad | Same | Galvanized steel base included, no separate foundation stated as required |
| Assembly | Delivered fully assembled, placed by the crew | Same | Buyer project, typically a weekend |
| Delivery access needed | 9 ft wide route, 14 ft overhead clearance | Same | None, ships as a boxed kit |
| Warranty | 2 years on exterior stain only; no published structural or panel term | Same | 10 years, full published proration ladder |

Two things worth stopping on. **The delivered Yoderbilt Traditional undercuts the DIY Palram kit at this exact size**, which is not the outcome most buyers expect walking in; delivery and assembly are usually treated as the expensive add-on, and here they are already inside the cheaper number. **Palram's Glory line uses thicker glazing than either Yoderbilt line**, 10mm against 8mm, which cuts against the assumption that the more expensive, delivered option is automatically the better-built one.

## What Each Price Actually Buys

**Yoderbilt sells the finished project, not a box of parts.** The frame and floor are already built when the trailer arrives, the delivery crew levels and places the structure, and there is no weekend of assembly ahead of you. That is worth real money to a buyer who does not want the build, and it is the entire reason to pick Yoderbilt over a kit at a similar price. The tradeoff comes on the access side: an 8-foot-wide unit needs a 9-foot clear route in, a 12-foot-wide unit needs 13 feet, and the trailer itself needs 14 feet of overhead clearance. Yoderbilt's own delivery drivers will not remove fencing or obstacles from the path. If your yard has a tight gate, low branches, or a sharp turn, get the route measured and photographed before you order, not after a truck shows up.

**Palram sells the kit and the documentation, not the labor.** You get a full published 10-year warranty proration ladder, free in year one and rising to 90 percent buyer-paid by year ten, void if the greenhouse is not anchored per the manufacturer's instructions. You also get thicker glazing at this size. What you do not get is a floor, a delivery crew, or freedom from a real assembly project; owners of Palram kits consistently describe the hardware as fiddly and the instructions as thin, covered in full in [the Palram Canopia review](/guides/palram-canopia-review). Budget a careful weekend and a second pair of hands, and build the base first, since panels that sit in clip channels can pop out on an unlevel or under-anchored structure.

## The Warranty Gap Nobody Prices In

This is the sharpest difference between the two brands, and it rarely shows up next to the sticker price.

| | Yoderbilt | Palram Canopia Glory |
|---|---|---|
| Published term | 2 years, exterior stain only | 10 years |
| Proration schedule | Not applicable; no broader structural or panel warranty is published | Published in full: free year 1, rising 10 percentage points a year to 90 percent buyer-paid by year 10 |
| Condition | Not stated for the structure itself | Void if not anchored per instructions |
| Transferable | Not stated | No |

Yoderbilt's FAQ and product pages state a two-year warranty on the exterior stain and recommend re-staining every two to three years. Neither the FAQ nor the product pages we checked state a broader structural or panel warranty term. That does not mean the wood frame or the polycarbonate is unsupported. It means the company has not published a term you can hold it to before you pay a deposit. Ask Yoderbilt directly for the full written warranty, exclusions, and claim process before the 10 percent down payment, the same standard this site applies to every brand in [the greenhouse quote checklist](/guides/greenhouse-quote-checklist). Palram's document is the opposite problem: fully disclosed, and the numbers are not always generous, since a year-eight panel claim costs the buyer 80 percent of the part's price.

## Frame Material: The Other Real Fork

Wood versus aluminium decides more of the long-term ownership experience than either brand's marketing does. Yoderbilt's pressure-treated southern yellow pine frame needs a stain refresh every two to three years and the occasional door or siding adjustment, but it does not flex the way a lighter frame can. Palram's aluminium frame never rots and needs no painting, but it is lighter, and the polycarbonate panels it holds in clip channels are the part most likely to pop loose if the base is not level or the structure is not anchored. Neither is a defect, they are different maintenance bargains. The full tradeoff, independent of these two specific brands, is in [aluminium vs wood greenhouse frames](/guides/aluminium-vs-wood-greenhouse-frame).

## What Actual Owners Report

Independent, dated evidence is genuinely thin for a head-to-head between these two brands; we found none that names both. What exists is single-brand.

For Yoderbilt, the strongest account is a non-sponsored four-year Kansas owner review of a 12x16 Legacy, updated in 2026 and already cited in [the Yoderbilt review](/guides/yoderbilt-greenhouse-review): no panel cracking, yellowing, leaks, or window failures through gusts above 80 mph, large hail, drought, and snow, though summer interior temperatures ran 10 to 15 degrees above ambient and needed added shade and airflow. One long-owned structure is durability evidence, not a certified wind or snow rating.

For Palram, the recurring independent pattern, already documented in [the Palram Canopia review](/guides/palram-canopia-review), is fiddly assembly and hardware, and panels that can pop from an under-anchored or unlevel base. Neither brand publishes an engineered wind or snow figure that a buyer can plan a build against; see [wind and anchoring](/guides/greenhouse-wind-anchoring) and [snow load](/guides/greenhouse-snow-load) for how to size a base and anchoring plan to your own local numbers instead.

## Which Buyer Should Get Which

**Buy the Yoderbilt if** you want the build gone entirely, your yard has a clear 9-to-14-foot delivery route, and you are willing to accept a stain cycle every two to three years and no published structural warranty in exchange. The Legacy is worth the extra $1,100 over the Traditional at this size if you want real windows and side ventilation; skip it if the bare Traditional's front-and-rear vents are enough for your climate.

**Buy the Palram Canopia Glory if** you want a warranty you can read start to finish, thicker glazing at this footprint, or your yard cannot take a delivery trailer. Anchor it properly and build a level base first; the warranty is void without anchoring, and the base is what actually determines whether the panels stay in their channels. Full detail on the brand alone is in [the Palram Canopia review](/guides/palram-canopia-review).

**Step down from both if** your real use is one season of seed-starting and you are not sure gardening will stick. A cold frame or the smallest Palram size does that job for less than either brand's 8x12, covered in [cold frame vs high tunnel vs greenhouse](/guides/cold-frame-vs-high-tunnel-vs-greenhouse).

**Step up from both if** a documented, engineered wind or snow rating is the actual reason you are shopping, since neither brand here publishes one. [Best greenhouses for cold climates](/guides/best-greenhouses-for-cold-climates) covers the makers that do.

## What We Could Not Verify

Publishing the gaps is more useful than filling them with a confident guess. As of September 19, 2026, we could not verify:

- **Any Yoderbilt structural or panel warranty term beyond the 2-year exterior stain warranty.** We did not contact Yoderbilt directly this run.
- **Yoderbilt's current lead time from order to delivery.** Not published on the FAQ or product pages we checked.
- **Whether a delivery fee applies to a specific buyer's zip code, and how much.** Yoderbilt's FAQ states this varies by region without a published table or map.
- **Any engineered wind or snow rating for Yoderbilt.** Only the single independent Kansas account's multi-year storm history exists; it is not a certification.
- **A second independent owner account that directly compares Yoderbilt and Palram.** We found none; each brand's independent evidence exists only on its own.
- **Whether the "unavailable, inventory on the way" status on Greenhouse Megastore's Glory 8x12 and 8x16 listings changes price by the time you order.**

We have not built, tested, or measured either brand's greenhouse. Every figure above comes from a manufacturer page, a specialty retailer listing, or a dated independent owner account, and each is labeled.

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Has anyone gotten a Yoderbilt greenhouse?

Yes. The strongest independent account is a four-year Kansas owner review of a 12x16 Legacy, covered in full in [the Yoderbilt review](/guides/yoderbilt-greenhouse-review): no panel cracking, yellowing, leaks, or window failures through wind gusts above 80 mph, hail, drought, and snow. That is one owner's multi-year experience, not a certified rating, and it does not exist for a matched Palram comparison at the same size.

### Are they worth the money?

Depends on which "they." Yoderbilt is worth the price for the buyer paying to skip assembly entirely and wanting a finished wood structure with a floor; at 8x12 it is not even the more expensive option once delivery and assembly are counted in. Palram is worth the price for the buyer who wants a documented warranty, thicker glazing, and does not mind a weekend build.

### Which is cheaper, Yoderbilt or Palram?

At a matched 8x12 footprint, checked September 19, 2026, Yoderbilt's Traditional line is cheaper at $4,395, delivered and assembled with a floor, against $5,184 for a Palram Canopia Glory kit you build yourself with no floor. Step up to Yoderbilt's Legacy line at the same size and the gap narrows to $311. Larger and smaller sizes will shift this comparison; check current prices at both before ordering.

### Does a Palram greenhouse come with a floor?

No. The Palram Canopia Glory ships as a kit with a galvanized steel base and no foundation requirement stated on the listing, but no finished floor. A Yoderbilt arrives with a pressure-treated deck floor already built into the structure. Either way, plan the base and site prep before ordering; see [the foundation and base guide](/guides/greenhouse-foundation-base-guide).

### What is Yoderbilt's warranty?

Yoderbilt's clearly published warranty covers the exterior stain for 2 years, with re-staining recommended every 2 to 3 years. Neither the company's FAQ nor its product pages we checked state a broader structural or polycarbonate panel warranty term. Ask for the full written warranty, exclusions, and claim process before paying the 10 percent deposit, the same standard we recommend for every brand in [the greenhouse quote checklist](/guides/greenhouse-quote-checklist).

## Sources

- [Yoderbilt: Traditional 8x8 greenhouse](https://yoderbilt.com/greenhouses/traditional/8x8/), current price and standard package, checked September 19, 2026
- [Yoderbilt: Traditional 8x12 greenhouse](https://yoderbilt.com/greenhouses/traditional/8x12/), current price and standard package, checked September 19, 2026
- [Yoderbilt: Legacy 8x12 greenhouse](https://yoderbilt.com/greenhouses/legacy/8x12/), current price, windows, and vent details, checked September 19, 2026
- [Yoderbilt: frequently asked questions](https://yoderbilt.com/resources/faq/), delivery access, deposit terms, warranty language, checked September 19, 2026
- [Yoderbilt: add-ons pricing](https://yoderbilt.com/add-ons/), tables, doors, electrical, insulation, and trim prices, checked September 19, 2026
- [Ninnescah Made: four-year Yoderbilt review](https://ninnescahmade.com/our-yoderbilt-greenhouse-faq/), independent owner disclosure, durability and temperature evidence
- [Greenhouse Megastore: Palram Canopia Glory Premium greenhouse](https://www.greenhousemegastore.com/products/palram-canopia-glory-premium-greenhouse), current 8x12 and 8x16 prices, glazing, base, and vent details, checked September 19, 2026
- Palram Canopia 10-year limited warranty document, full proration ladder, already cited in [Palram vs Exaco Riga vs Janssens](/guides/palram-vs-exaco-riga-vs-janssens) and [Palram vs Solexx](/guides/palram-vs-solexx)
- `src/data/manufacturers.json` Yoderbilt and Palram entries, independent desk synthesis dated 2026-07-25 and 2026-07-12, reused with attribution for warranty and assembly claims not re-derived this run
